OutSmart EMR Knowledgebase

Learn to work smarter, faster.

Medical Charting Preferences 

Accessing your Charting Preferences

Charting preferences can be adjusted and set on the main SmartCharts page.  Go to the Main Navigation Menu, and click on SmartCharts.  On the SmartCharts page, click on the Settings tab to get access to the preferences.

Go to the Settings tab on the SmartCharts page.

Go to the Settings tab on the SmartCharts page.

SmartCharts Settings and Preferences.

SmartCharts Settings and Preferences.

Charting Preferences

  • Do you want to auto-load Chart Histories? This preference allows you to decide whether or not you want the charting interface to auto-load chart histories inline with your chart.  Chart histories are useful if you want to maintain a clear Patient Story as you are charting, and if you want to be able to easily track active vs inactive products, diagnoses, chief concerns, allergies, etc.  However chart histories are not mandatory, and if you prefer to not use them, you do not have to.  Setting this preference to NO will prevent chart histories from loading, while setting it to YES will give you the benefit of the chart histories feature.
  • Do you want to restrict chart histories to your own notes, or include shared notes from other practitioners? This preference will allow you to load into your inline chart histories all the notes taken by other practitioners who have chosen to share their charts with you.  This can be helpful if you are working in a collaborative care environment.
  • Do you want to display the Product Schedule Calendar in the chart editing inteface? The Product Schedule Calendar allows you to see, at a glance, all your scheduled products.  However if you are not using this feature, or if you have not yet started to use this feature, it can take up a lot of room in your chart for no good reason.  Setting this preference to NO will hide the Product Schedule Calendar from view, however you will still be able to create product schedules if you want.  You simply will not be able to see how they show up in the calendar.  Setting this preference to YES will allow you to construct and update your patient’s active products easily.
  • Do you want to display any account notes in the chart editing interface? This preference will allow you to display in your SOAP charts all notes from the patient workspace that are labelled with the labels you choose here.  These ‘Alerts’ will be displayed at the top of your SOAP charts for that patient, in the SOAP chart editing view.
  • Do you want to have access to all Smart Templates created by practitioners in this office, or only yours? This option will allow you to access Smart Templates that have been created by other members of your clinic.  You will be able to use their templates from the “Add a Template” drop down within the SOAP chart editing interface.  These templates will ONLY show up in that “Add a Template” dropdown within the SOAP chart editing interface.

Charting History Settings

If you choose “yes” to auto-loading Charting Histories, then you can fine-tune exactly which sections you want to load histories for, and how far back you want to go.  Setting the ‘# of Charts’ option to 5, for example, will auto-load histories for the last 5 charts.

Charting Printing Preferences

These preferences adjust how a chart or treatment plan prints.

  • Show Product Schedule? This option will show or hide the Product Schedule Calendar on the chart and treatment plan printouts.
  • Print Product IV Therapy?  This option will control whether or not the IV therapy protocol will print out on the page when printing. Note that it will always show up on the screen EXCEPT from the patient’s perspective in the Patient Portal, however this option will control whether or not it will print out on paper regardless of the fact that it shows up on the screen.
  • Show previously recommended ACTIVE Product History in all treatment plans?This option will control whether or not to show all active products in treatment plans from past charts.  Setting this to “no” means that your treatment plans will only include active products recommended during that specific chart / visit.  Setting it to “yes” means that your treatment plans will include ALL currently active products for the patient.

Note that all of the print options for charts are also available to be adjusted on the print view itself.

The charting options listed at the top of a print view of the chart. These options will not show up on the actual printout.

The charting options listed at the top of a print view of the chart. These options will not show up on the actual printout.

Facebook
Facebook