OutSmart EMR Knowledgebase

Learn to work smarter, faster.

Document Management FAQ

Why do I not see documents uploaded by my admin?

When admin is uploading files they must select the owner of the file before uploading the file. They can also change the owner later.

If you are not able to see documents that have been uploaded by your admin staff, it is likely because the ownership of the file was assigned to another practitioner.

As opposed to a practitioner uploading their own files, admin staff have the added responsibility of indicating who is to be the owner of the files they are uploading.  The Owner of a file must always be one of the practitioners are the clinic.

So, for an admin account, the correct process to upload is file is as follows:

  1. Select the Owner of the File.
  2. Upload the File.
Admin staff must select a practitioner before uploading a document.

Admin staff must select a practitioner before uploading a document.

What To Do If The File Is Already Uploaded To The Incorrect Owner?

If the file has already been uploaded to the incorrect owner, then all you need to do is change the owner of the file.  When logged in as an admin, here are the steps to change the owner:

  1. Select the file ‘row’ by clicking anywhere in the file’s row where there is no writing.  This will turn the row orange. (You can also ‘click and drag’ to select multiple files).
  2. Use the drop-down in the Top Toolbar to change the owner.
Admin can change the owner of an improperly uploaded document.

Admin can change the owner of an improperly uploaded document.

How do I see a patient’s/client’s files that I uploaded?

All uploading of files is done in the Documents Module.  You can access the Documents Module from any page in OutSmart, by clicking on the blue ‘inbox’ icon at the top right of the screen.

Click icon to access Documents module.

Click icon to access Documents module.

The page from where you access the Documents Module will determine which documents you initially see when the Documents Module is opened.  For example, if you are in a Patient Worspace, and then you click to open the Documents Module, you will start off by seeing that specific patient’s documents.

If you are in a Medical Chart, same idea – you will see that specific patient’s documents.

By contrast, if you are on the OutSmart Dashboard and then open the Documents Module, you will start off with a view of all your documents, because you were not originally on a page that involved a specific patient.

Of course, once you are viewing the Documents Module, you can then move around and see any files you want.  We simply try to make things easier and more efficient by anticipating which documents you want to see based on what you are currently doing in Outsmart.

Who can see documents that I have uploaded?

When you upload a file to the Documents Module, only you (if you are a practitioner) or the practitioner on behalf on whom you have uploaded the file (if you are an admin) is initially able to see the document in their list.  In other words, all documents that are uploaded are initially private and can only be seen by one practitioner and their admin staff.

If you want to allow others to see your files, you must share them.  Checkout this article that explains how to share documents with both other practitioners as well as patients.

How can I change the owner of an uploaded Document?

Change owner of an uploaded document by first selecting the document, and then using the “change owner” dropdown list in the Top Toolbar.

In OutSmart EMR, you can change the owner of a document(s) to any other practitioner in your clinic with a license to use the system.  You cannot change the owner of a document to a practitioner who does not have a license or who is on a free subscription.

Navigating And Uploading Documents

Before starting to re-assign documents, it’s important to understand how to navigate the Documents Module.  Once you know the difference between files uploaded to a specific Patient Workspace vs files uploaded to the All Documents section, you are ready to start re-assigning files.

Changing The Owner Of A Document

To change the owner of a document, first select the document by clicking on the row where the document is displayed, in the Documents Module.  You can click and drag to select multiple documents.

When the documents are selected, they will be highlighted in orange, and the options available in the Top Toolbar will change to reflect what can be done with the selected documents.  Use the “Change Owner” drop down box in the Top Toolbar to select a new owner for the documents.

Changing the owner of a document.

Changing the owner of a document.

Facebook
Facebook