OutSmart EMR Knowledgebase

Learn to work smarter, faster.

Daily Schedule Printout

Easy-to-follow schedules for busy practitioners

The Daily Schedule printout is intended to give you an easy to follow printed schedule for the day.  When logged in as a practitioner, you will have the option to print your own schedule, and set your own preferences.

When logged in as an Admin user, you will have the option to either print a specific practitioner’s schedule, or a schedule which includes all events for all practitioners for the day.  This option will be provided to you in the form of a drop down list in the Daily Schedule Dashboard Card, as well as the Daily Schedule printout.

To access the Daily Schedule printout, click on the “print” icon at the top right of the Daily Schedule Dashboard card.

Click on the print icon to access the Daily Schedule printout. You can use the Practitioner selection when logged in as Admin.

Click on the print icon to access the Daily Schedule printout. You can use the Practitioner selection when logged in as Admin.

When you click on the print icon, the Daily Schedule printout will open in a new browser window, and you will have a a few preferences available to configure the display.  These preferences will automatically save to your account, so that you do not need to keep setting them every time.

Sample Daily Scheudle printout for a single practitioner. Generated from an admin account.

Sample Daily Scheudle printout for a single practitioner. Generated from an admin account.

Daily Schedule Printout main sections

There are 3 main sections to the Daily Schedule printout:

  1. The practitioner selection drop-down (visible to admin accounts only)
  2. The print options area
  3. The Daily Schedule area

The Practitioner Selection drop-down

The practitioner selection drop-down allows admin accounts to easily switch between practitioner schedules in order to quickly be able to print everyone’s schedule.  The drop-down will also allow admins to print a single schedule with ALL practitioner events included.

The print options area

Both admin accounts and practitioner accounts have the same Daily Schedule preferences that are automatically saved to their accounts:

  • Display non-patient events
  • Display Client Workspace notes

Display non-patient events

This option will allow you to choose whether or not you want to include non-patient events like lunch beaks or office meetings on the schedule.

Display Client Workspace notes

This option will allow you to choose whether or not to display Patient Workspace notes along with the events in the schedule.  The notes to be displayed can be customized based on the labels that were applied to them in the Patient Workspace.

The Daily Schedule area

The Daily Schedule area is where the scheduled events, descriptions, and notes are displayed.  By default, the daily schedule will only display the current day’s events.  Note that recurring (repeating) events will be indicated with the phrase “Recurring event” directly under the displayed time of the event.

How to use Workspace Notes with your Daily Schedule

Workspace notes can be an incredibly useful tool if used in a consistent manner with the daily schedule.  The Daily Schedule printout allows you to specify which notes to include via the labels that were applied to them in the Client Workspace.  Selecting “Calendar Alert” as one of the labels in the Print Options of the Daily Schedule printout will case all notes labelled with the “Calendar Alert” label to show up beside the patients in your schedule.  You can select more than one label as well, to increase the scope of the notes presented.

Selecting a Calendar Alert label will cause all notes labelled as "calendar alert" to show up next to their respective patients.

Selecting a Calendar Alert label will cause all notes labelled as “calendar alert” to show up next to their respective patients.

This means that effective use of labels in the Client Workspsace notes area is an important step to ensuring that your Daily Schedule printout is populated with relevant information.  Here are some tips that will help:

  • Use the Calendar Alert label.  It’s a label available in every account and it is already linked to the OutSmart calendar, and will show up in the Event Editor when a patient is selected.  So it’s a natural choice to be included in the printout.
  • Consider using Emergency Alert and Medical Alert labels here.  If you perform high risk treatments, having emergency information handy could be helpful for you and for first responders.
  • Do not use too many labels.  Overloading the labels selected will results in a too much information to sift through.  Limit yourself to 2 or 3 labels.
  • Before printing the schedule, scan the notes.  You can remove those notes that you do not need to see anymore by removing the labels associated with them.  See below for details.

Removing Labels from Notes in the Daily Schedule printout

Another useful tool in the Daily Schedule printout is the ability to remove labels from notes.  Let’s say that you have chosen to show notes labelled with the “Calendar Alert” label.  Just before you print the schedule, you can scan through the displayed notes.  IF you find some notes that are no longer relevant and do not need to be labelled with “Calendar Alert”, you can remove that label from the note, effectively removing it from the schedule.  This dies not delete the note itself.  It just removes the label from the note.

This is a useful note grooming process that can help to keep your notes relevant.

Label removal rules

There are some rules to label removal:

  • Admin staff can remove any labels added to the note by any practitioner at their clinic.
  • Practitioners can remove any labels they themselves added to the note, and
  • Practitioners can remove labels added to the note by admin staff.
  • Practitioners cannot remove labels added to the note by other practitioners.
Click to remove the Calendar Alert label from this note, effectively removing it from the schedule without deleting the note.

Click to remove the Calendar Alert label from this note, effectively removing it from the schedule without deleting the note.

Facebook
Facebook